Thu. Apr 15th, 2021
Narendra Modi Becomes Second Indian Head of State To Win Ig Nobel Prize

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been awarded the Ig Nobel prize for 2020 for his contributions to medical education, alongside the heads of the governments of Brazil, the UK, Mexico, Belarus, the US, Turkey, Russia and Turkmenistan. Narendra Modi Wins Second noble prize. The Ig Nobel Prizes are satirical prizes awarded per annum by a magazine named Annals of Improbable Research, specialising in humorous coverage and discussions of scientific developments, The name of the prizes may be a play on the word ‘ignoble’, which is an antonym of ‘noble’, and therefore the name of ‘Nobel’.

As Sangeeta Balakrishnan, a chemistry teacher in Chennai, wrote for The Wire in September 2016:


Narendra Modi Wins Second noble prize
The Governor of Nagaland, Shri R.N. Ravi calling on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, in New Delhi on August 08, 2019.

“The awards are presented by Nobel laureates at a grand, rather quirky, ceremony within the Sanders Theatre at Harvard University. The awardees have exactly 60 seconds to present their acceptance speech. A forbidding eight-year-old girl appointed for the aim makes her displeasure known when the 60-second rule is violated. She simply gets on the stage and coos: ‘Please stop, i’m bored.’ The trick works. Watched by a thousand-odd spectators within the theatre, who also are given the prospect to shoot paper aeroplanes on to the stage, the event is telecast survive the web .”

But this year, thanks to the continued coronavirus pandemic, the event – like many other events – transpired entirely online.

The first prizes were awarded in 1991. Past laureates include Andre Geim, who shared the physics Ig Nobel prize in 2000 for using magnets to levitate a frog – and shared the physics Nobel prize in 2010 for his work on graphene.

Modi isn’t the primary Indian to win the prize, however, neither is he the foremost prominent.

There are other laureates with Indian affiliations also:

Previous Indian Ig Nobel laureates –  Atal Bihari Vajpayee (peace, 1998),

“Aggressively Peaceful” detonation of a nuclear weapon – Chittaranjan Andrade and B.S. Srihari (public health, 2001),

Locating that adolescents often pick their noses – K.P. Sreekumar and G. Nirmalan (math, 2002),

Estimating the area of elephants –  Lal Bihari (peace, 2003),

Creating the Association of Dead People. In addition, Modi shared the Ig Nobel prize for medical education with

  1. Jair Bolsonaro
  2. Boris Johnson
  3. Andrés Manuel López Obrador
  4. Alexander Lukashenko
  5. Donald Trump
  6. Recep Tayyip Erdogan
  7. Putin and Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedow

consistent with the citation, the popularity is:

“for using the COVID-19 viral pandemic to show the planet that politicians can have a more immediate effect on life and death than scientists and doctors can.”

The governments of India and Pakistan also share the Ig Nobel prize for peace this year, “for having their diplomats surreptitiously ring each other’s doorbells within the middle of the night. Then run away before anyone had an opportunity to answer the door.

“Islamabad has recalled its diplomat to Delhi for ‘consultations’ amid a row between the neighbours about the alleged harassment of every country’s diplomats and their families. Narendra Modi Wins Second noble prize. The mistreatment allegedly includes tailing the cars of High Commission officials, isolating water and electricity supplies and ringing. The doorbells of senior diplomatic staff at 3 am then fleeing,” The Guardian reported in 2018. Has complained about being victim of the latter, as has his Pakistani counterpart in Delhi.

ALSO CHECK: Mumbai University Exam News | Date To Submit Applications Extended Till September 20

The other laureates this year are: 

  • Acoustics – Stephan Reber, Takeshi Nishimura, Judith Janisch, Mark Robertson and Tecumseh Fitch, for inducing a female Chinese alligator to bellow in an airtight chamber crammed with helium-enriched air.
  • Psychology – Miranda Giacomin and Nicholas Rule, for devising a way to spot narcissists by examining their eyebrows.
  • Physics – Ivan Maksymov and Andriy Pototsky, for determining, experimentally, what happens to the form of a living earthworm when one vibrates the earthworm at high frequency.
  • Economics – Christopher Watkins, Juan David Leongómez, Jeanne Bovet, Agnieszka Żelaźniewicz, Max Korbmacher, Marco Antônio Corrêa Varella, Ana Maria Fernandez, Danielle Wagstaff and Samuela Bolgan, for trying to quantify the connection between different countries’ value inequality and therefore the average amount of mouth-to-mouth kissing.
  • Management – Five professional hitmen in Guangxi, China, who managed a contract for successful job within the following way: After accepting payment to perform the murder, Xi
  • Guang-An subcontracted the task to Mo Tian-Xiang, who then subcontracted the task to Yang Kang-Sheng, who then subcontracted the task to Yang Guang-Sheng, who then subcontracted the task to Ling Xian-Si, with each subsequently enlisted hitman receiving a smaller percentage of the fee, and no-one actually performing a murder.
  • Materials science – Metin Eren, Michelle Bebber, James Norris, Alyssa Perrone, Ashley Rutkoski, Michael Wilson and Mary Ann Raghanti. for showing that knives manufactured from frozen human faeces don’t work well.

As Balakrishnan wrote:

“The Ig Nobels don’t ridicule science. On the contrary, they create it evident that science is fun. The Ig Nobels break stereotypes. They allow students to understand that a scientist isn’t a weird looking bespectacled person with unkempt hair attired during a laboratory coat embellished with a pocket protector. Narendra Modi Wins Second noble prize. These are the awards that tell students that everyday things have a search question latent in them. They provide students the lifetime pass to think crazy, and are available up with zany ideas. Then use the methodology to whittle and sieve the thought through.”


Something Wrong Please Contact to Davsy Admin

One thought on “Narendra Modi Becomes Second Indian Head of State To Win Ig Nobel Prize”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »